Skip Navigation Links > Home > Durlston Today > Daily Diary

Daily Diary

20
August
Tuesday 20th August 2019
A gorgeous morning, with a little bit of wind providing a cooling breeze. Along the Hawthorn and Blackthorn hedge, bot... Read More
by Katie Black
19
August
Monday 19th August 2019
From the bottom of the gully by the lighthouse bridge came the call of a Bullfinch, this almost squeak like sound carr... Read More
by Katie Black
18
August
Sunday 18 August, 2019
I arrived in rainfall! Sheltering in the bird hide I saw the pond being topped up by nature whilst around it, Bristly ... Read More
by P.Jones
17
August
Saturday 17th August
The early sunshine encouraging me and the wildlife to be up and about! Stood in the branches of an Oak tree was a Grey... Read More
by Katie Black
16
August
Friday 16th August 2019
A strong south-westerly wind blowing across the park, making for difficult wildlife watching conditions, the small bir... Read More
by Katie Black
15
August
Thursday 15 August, 2019
Do not fly my love Humans are of no concern We are masters here A blue sky and lazily drifting cumulus clouds g... Read More
by Douglas Hart
14
August
Wednesday 14th August 2019
I aimed towards the woodland as the rain started to fall heavily, some shelter from the drops I hoped. Emerging from t... Read More
by Katie Black
13
August
Tuesday 13th August, 2019
My first morning rounds for quite some time to require a coat ! A gentle rain is falling as I set out, though with alm... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
12
August
Monday 12 August, 2019
The Bird Ringers were active playing a variety of bird calls Tree Pipits and eight types of warbler re amongst their c... Read More
by P.Jones
11
August
Sunday 11th August 2019
With the winds continuing to blow in from the south-west, the coast was the place to go to enjoy the churning seas. As... Read More
by Katie Black
10
August
Saturday 10 August, 2019
A mighty force now plies its course, its presence all but seen Its smelt and felt and heard while bird and insect fl... Read More
by Douglas Hart
09
August
Friday 9th August 2019
With the thick grey clouds overhead the sea was a churning mass of white waves and crests, skimming above this were gl... Read More
by Katie Black
08
August
Thiursday 8th August, 2019
A very different morning, with the sky draped with sheets of rippled grey cloud and a few spots of rain as I started t... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
07
August
Wednesday 07 August, 2019
As children we heard tales of magic creatures of the wood But fey and pixies are not real, this is now understood ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
06
August
Tuesday 6th August, 2019
A bright and breezy start to the day, with fluffy white clouds hurtling across a blue sky and the wind roaring through... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
05
August
Monday 5th August 209
The change in the weather to dull and slightly damp made for a much more autumnal feel to life. Sliding across the pat... Read More
by Katie Black
04
August
Sunday 4th August, 2019
A pleasantly cool start to the day, with a south-westerly breeze rattling among dry grasses in the meadows and rustlin... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
03
August
Saturday 03 August, 2019
I heard a bird abroad the sward that flapped into a gap A glide inside a nub of scrub, no mishap for that chap Abo... Read More
by Douglas Hart
02
August
Friday 02 August, 2019
Spreading, latching, creeping, catching; green tendrils advance Snagging, flowing never slowing; the seeking shoots ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
01
August
Thursday 1st August 2019
The eruption of sound as a Green Woodpecker took flight from the top of the Yellow Meadow Ant hill it had been perched... Read More
by Katie Black
31
July
Wednesday 31st July 2019
As I strolled around the edges of the soon to be cut meadows, clouds of Gatekeepers took flight from the adjacent hedg... Read More
by Katie Black
30
July
Tuesday 30 July, 2019
Due to the strong winds I set out to check for any tree damage. On the approach the Cuff bench a leaning Apple Tree ha... Read More
by P.Jones
29
July
Monday 29 July, 2019
Amid the quaking grasses dwell a thousand tiny things Brown, tan and green musicians striking chords on chitin strin... Read More
by Douglas Hart
28
July
Sunday 28 July, 2019
Undoubtedly, the butterfly of the moment was the Gatekeeper. Over one hundred were seen just between the Centre and Ta... Read More
by P.Jones
27
July
Saturday, 27th July, 2019
A fresher start to the day, with a north-easterly breeze rattling through the dry grasses in the meadows and making th... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
26
July
Monday 26th July, 2019
It was a refreshing having a little light rain and despite this and the cloud there was insect activity! Several Gatek... Read More
by P.Jones
25
July
Thursday 25th July 2019
Hot again but a gentle cooling breeze along the clifftops made for a lovely walk. An array of flowers including the ye... Read More
by Katie Black
24
July
Wednesday 24th July, 2019
Despite some spectacular lightning storms last night, just a trace of rain in the rain gauge last night all sound and... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
23
July
Tuesday 23rd July
A bright sunny start with on ominous roll of cloud hovering just above the sea and off the coastline. The sound of a S... Read More
by Katie Black