Skip Navigation Links > Home > Durlston Today > Daily Diary

Daily Diary

14
December
saturday 14 December, 2019
A pair of Magpies investigated the grassy overflow car park whilst a pair of Carrion Crows loitered at the edge of the... Read More
by Paul Jones
13
December
Friday 13th December, 2019
This morning I was greeted by a fantastic full Moon to northwest and the glow of a low Sun in the southeast. A slightl... Read More
by Ben Tolley
12
December
Thursday 12 December, 2019
Drips and drops and spits and spats Down it pours like dogs and cats Liquid snows compose to flows That grows an... Read More
by Douglas Hart
11
December
Wednesday 11 December, 2019
Eight Jackdaws perched in a leafless Sycamore beside the Centre. Beside the garden fence all the wide path was slipper... Read More
by Paul Jones
10
December
Tuesday 10th December 2019
The early start enabled me to enjoy a pink horizon, the clouds reflecting gloriously, this changed as I continued the ... Read More
by Katie Black
09
December
Monday 9th December 2019
After the strong winds of last night, a glorious day for a patrol. The wind drawing me towards the coast where the pal... Read More
by Katie Black
08
December
Sunday 08 December, 2019
First one roadside Magpie was flushed from the Laurel then another two burst out from amongst an Elm stand. A Squirrel... Read More
by Paul Jones
07
December
Saturday 7th December 2019
The shafts of sunlight filtering through the thick grey clouds provided some wonderful affects this morning. On the ... Read More
by Katie Black
06
December
Friday 06 December, 2019
Leafless but fibrous Elm skeletons stood upright in the wind whilst the drooping branch trips of a Silver Birch danced... Read More
by Paul Jones
05
December
Thursday 05 December, 2019
Life, it builds the body, from barren matter found inert The atoms swell with vigour, living flesh from lifeless dir... Read More
by Douglas Hart
04
December
Wednesday 4th December 2019
Bullfinches the star of the show at the start of my wander around Durlston National Nature Reserve, the sound of them ... Read More
by Katie Black
03
December
Tuesday 03 December, 2019
Another glorious golden sunrise and an air of calmness greeted me.At one point there was a double sun effect as the su... Read More
by Paul Jones
02
December
Monday 02 January 2019
A perfect winter morning here at Durlston, with a layer of white frost covering the grass making for a slight crispy f... Read More
by Katie Black
01
December
Sunday 01 December, 2019
Life is warmth and warmth is life, from Arctic to Equator Cold and heat fail to entreat, warmth is the actuator It... Read More
by Douglas Hart
30
November
Saturday 30th November 2019
The meadows called me at the start of my patrol, where I was fortunate to spot two Roe Deer browsing on the hedgerow, ... Read More
by Katie Black
29
November
Friday 29th November 2019
The sound of Bullfinches was squeaking through the air as I started my wander around the National Nature Reserve this ... Read More
by Katie Black
28
November
Thursday 28th November, 2019
Sofie reported hearing a Tawny Owl from the comfort of her bed in the volunteer accommodation. Yesterday it took some ... Read More
by Paul Jones
27
November
Wednesday 27 November, 2019
The rocks breathe today But their breath is not like ours Air, water and salt I set out from the Learning Centr... Read More
by Douglas Hart
26
November
Tuesday 26 November, 2019
Cloud like patches of wind-blown rain drifted across the car park and down long meadow. Meanwhile, puddles on the car ... Read More
by Paul Jones
25
November
Monday 25th November 2019
A very wet early morning patrol, with water dripping onto my binoculars every time I used them! The Guillemots were ... Read More
by Katie Black
24
November
Sunday 24th November, 2019
A still start to the day, with not even a breath of wind, though a blurry streak of pink gold sky above the sea adds c... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
23
November
Saturday 23 November, 2019
Drizzle is as drizzle does Drizzle drizzles just because Drizzle dampens down the day Drizzle, drizzle go away ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
22
November
Friday 22 November, 2019
Hey my friend, have you met Herb Robert? Hedge or kerb hes growing there Herb Robert Oooooh Herb Robert He flow... Read More
by Douglas Hart
21
November
Thursday 21st November 2019
As I walked past the wildlife area, emerging from between the slatted fence was a Wren, a loud sharp blast from such a... Read More
by Katie Black
20
November
Wednesday 20 November, 2019
Soaring with the winter winds on wings not made to glide A heady thrill amid the chill so frequently denied An und... Read More
by Douglas Hart
19
November
Tuesday 19 November, 2019
Both a Grey Squirrel and a Magpie were investigating the approach road verge. Near the centre a creature had turfed tu... Read More
by Paul Jones
18
November
Monday 18th November 2019
The moon was showing white against the blue sky in the west, while to the east the sun was a glorious yellow orb. Agai... Read More
by Katie Black
17
November
Sunday 17th November, 2019
A walk to work across meadows sparkling with frost in the morning sunshine and crunching underfoot in a very satisfyin... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
16
November
Saturday 16th November, 2019
A chilly start to the day, though some patches of bright blue among a skyscape of tumbled grey cloud and shoals of bro... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
15
November
Friday 15 November, 2019
Berries start to fall And the insects are no more Wolf knocks at the door Mid-november thats as far as I made ... Read More
by Ben Tolley