Skip Navigation Links > Home > Today > Daily Diary

Daily Diary

22
September
Tuesday 22nd September, 2020
In places the dew was evident upon the vegetation. It showed up the sheet webs of Spiders between the sward. A Goldfin... Read More
by Paul Jones
21
September
Monday 21 September, 2020
As I left for my walk this morning the car park edges were a hive of activity, Blue Tits, Sparrow and Chiffchaff all h... Read More
by Catherine Carter
20
September
Sunday 20th September, 2020
Whilst I failed to see the Herford Cattle which were meant to be in the south west corner that is Field 3, I was pleas... Read More
by Paul Jones
19
September
Saturday 19th September, 2020
Another fine autumn morning, with a fresh north-easterly breeze making it feel a little cooler today, despite some bri... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
18
September
Friday 18th September, 2020
Flowers gone seeds drop Rolled into a dusty crop Meadows hit the hay A slight chill in the air this morning, wi... Read More
by Ben Tolley
17
September
Thursday 17 September, 2020
Galls are abnormal growths that occur on leaves, twigs, roots or flowers of many plants. Most Galls are made by irrita... Read More
by Catherine Carte
16
September
Wednesday 16 September, 2020
When things are whirling around in your head there is nothing better than some nature therapy, and what better place t... Read More
by Catherine Carter
15
September
Tuesday 15th September 2020
Barely a breath of wind across Durlston National Nature Reserve this morning, while the sound of birds accompanied my ... Read More
by Katie Black
14
September
Monday 14th September, 2020
A lovely autumn morning, with a heavy dew sparkling in the bright sunshine and as the mist clears, a dizzying blue sky... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
13
September
Sunday 13 September, 2020
Yesterday morning, with help from visitors, I first rounded up three, then another plus one more Hereford Cattle. Than... Read More
by Paul Jones
12
September
Saturday 12th September 2020
My first diary for a few days felt much more autumnal, the trees showing more brown leaves and the berries a glorious ... Read More
by Katie Black
11
September
Friday 11 September, 2020
Beneath the bows of a Field Maple stood tall dry stems of Bristly Ox Tongue that released their seed clocks to the bre... Read More
by Paul Jones
10
September
Thursday 10 September, 2020
The half-moon was prominent between the speckled clouds and blue sky this morning. A Robin was my first spot, its red ... Read More
by Catherine Carter
09
September
Wednesday 090 September, 2020
Our off-road mobility trampers have been very popular with the recent dry weather and influx of visitors to the Countr... Read More
by Catherine Carter
08
September
Tuesday 8th September, 2020
A dry, warm morning, with shoals of grey cloud interspersed with ripples of gold and a few fragments of bright blue (e... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
07
September
Monday 07 September, 2020
Today we welcomed new Apprentice, Josh, whom had commuted in from Poole by public transport!In the blue sky a waning g... Read More
by Paul Jones
06
September
Sunday 6th September, 2020
I started my walk today from the North East end of the Country Park firstly to admire the deep ridged trunk of the Mac... Read More
by Cat Carter
05
September
Saturday 5th September, 2020
Blackcaps galore as I undertook the early patrol today, many of these greyish warblers popping up from amongst the lea... Read More
by Katie Black
04
September
Friday 4th September, 2020
It felt very autumnal this morning with a bounty of bright red fruit hanging into the avenue-like section of Lighthous... Read More
by Ben Tolley
03
September
Thursday 3rd September, 2020
Durlston Castle looked quite imposing this morning with the sea mist blowing overhead. Two Great Tits could be heard c... Read More
by Ben Tolley
02
September
Wednesday 2nd September 2020
Another lovely morning for a stroll across the National Nature Reserve, where above the meadows a constant stream of h... Read More
by Katie Black
01
September
Tuesday 1 September, 2020
The first month of Autumn welcomed me with a cool, dry and sunny. The most obvious actors in this mornings theatre wer... Read More
by Paul Jones
31
August
Monday 31st August
A quite amazing sunset last night across the Country Park, with stripes and pinks, blues and greys just stunning. Th... Read More
by Katie Black
30
August
Sunday 30th August, 2020
Despite brilliant blue skies and bright sunshine, a chilly NNW breeze means that there is a definite autumnal feel to ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
29
August
Saturday 29th August 2020
With the wind blowing across from the north, I went down to the coast where Gannets were gliding low across the grey w... Read More
by Katie Black
28
August
Friday 28 August 2020
I silently gave thanks to the weather for clearing up in time for my last morning on the park, my early walk was neith... Read More
by Cameron MacInnes
27
August
Thursday 27 August, 2020
A fresh beautiful morning to be out in the Country Park, the clouds in a Tortoise shell pattern, light and speckled. L... Read More
by Catherine Carter
26
August
Wednesday 26th August, 2020
A persistent breeze led us around the back of the learning centre into the surrounding meadows. At a glance, it seemed... Read More
by Alex Leeds
25
August
Tuesday 25th August, 2020
The pinnate leaves of an Ash Tree fell around me as I set off this morning and found myself making a quick beeline for... Read More
by Ben Tolley