Skip Navigation Links > Home > Durlston Today > Daily Diary

Daily Diary

16
September
Monday 16 September, 2019
Oh dear I see a deer appear, a deer thats very near The deer thats here is a Roe Deer, with a white patch on its rea... Read More
by Douglas Hart
15
September
Sunday 15 September, 2019
On my walk in I passed the undercliff that lies above Blackers Hole. It was here that I heard the piercing high pitch ... Read More
by Paul Jones
14
September
Saturday 14th September 2019
A quite glorious early morning, for once I was accompanied by other as the Friends of Durlston were providing marshals... Read More
by Katie Black
13
September
friday 13 September, 2019
On my walk in from Langton a Raven was heard near Spyway Farm which possibly disappeared into wooded copse know as Cuc... Read More
by Paul Jones
12
September
Thursday 12 September, 2019
The lights not right to see you Too white and bright by far It highlights right the sea view But views of you? S... Read More
by Douglas Hart
11
September
Wednesday 11th September
As the rain blew in from the west most of the wildlife was hiding away amongst the hedges and in the lea of the old qu... Read More
by Katie Black
10
September
Tuesday 10th September, 2019
An autumnal feel to the early rounds this morning, with veils of mist starting to roll back as I headed up the hill, r... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
09
September
Monday 09 September, 2019
Overhead the activity of House Martins and Swallows was to be the dominating spectacle of the morning. Both about the ... Read More
by Paul Jones
08
September
Sunday 08 August, 2019
Whitethroat and Blackcap are two famous crooks With signature clothing to cover their looks Blackcap is a brown ha... Read More
by Douglas Hart
07
September
Saturday 7th September 2019
Barely a breath of wind to accompany my early patrol, down to the cliffs where small groups of Chiffchaffs and their c... Read More
by Katie Black
06
September
Friday 6th September 2019
The antics of House Martins were the first thing to catch the eye and imagination this morning, as hundreds of them fl... Read More
by Katie Black
05
September
Thursday 05 September, 2019
South Field had its cut hay lying and drying in the sun, thus remaining flowers were at the scrub edge and uncut Ant H... Read More
by P.Jones
04
September
Wednesday 04 September, 2019
I am senator Slimius Slugus, lord of Durlston Park I take my fill from leafy greens and mushrooms sat on bark Toda... Read More
by Douglas Hart
03
September
Tuesday 3rd August 2019
A tide of purple-grey cloud slowly washes its way across the sky, propelled by a gentle WSW wind, though patches of br... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
02
September
Monday 2nd September
A chill in the air for my patrol this morning, but glorious sunshine and blue sky to accompany me. The smell of the ... Read More
by Katie Black
01
September
Sunday 1st September, 2019
A lovely late summer morning, with blue skies streaked with high blue cloud and a gentle breeze carrying the scents of... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
31
August
Saturday 31 August, 2019
You thought us lesser beings, scarce and scattered, far and few But now you see reality, those notions are untrue ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
30
August
Friday 30 August, 2019
Cylinders of suspended life, stem and seed and flower Banks of genes for meadows new, or stores of solar power The... Read More
by Douglas Hart
29
August
Thursday 29th August 2019
The deep chestnut fur of a Roe Deer was catching the sunlight, a glorious colour against the dark green foliage of the... Read More
by Katie Black
28
August
Wednesday 28th August, 2019
A lovely sky this morning, with shoals and ripples of cloud interspersed with streaks of bright blue and clear views, ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
27
August
Tuesday 27th August 2019
Early morning at Durlston and I was greeted by the sight of a Pied Flycatcher flitting amongst the berry laden Hawthor... Read More
by Katie Black
26
August
Monday 26th August 2019
A single dot among a trillion, adrift amid the stars Not glowing white like Venus, nor tinted red like Mars A tele... Read More
by Katie Black
25
August
Sunday 25th August 2019
A wonderful early morning with lots of wildlife to be seen and enjoyed, the first thing was the sound of a Green Woodp... Read More
by Katie Black
24
August
Saturday 24 August, 2019
Thanks to the Bird Ringers playing bird call recordings there were birds about the Learning Centre. Amongst these were... Read More
by P.Jones
23
August
Friday 23rd August, 2019
A still, warm start to the day, with hundreds of Swallows swirling around the Learning Centre as I arrived, feeding up... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
22
August
Thursday 22 August, 2019
Painted Ladies bring elation But summertime is leaving soon Autumns touch brings complication Departs the flower... Read More
by Douglas Hart
21
August
Wednesday 21 August, 2019
Crickets chirping twixt the blades Grasshoppers chime in too Theyll play us many serenades Before the day is thr... Read More
by Douglas Hart
20
August
Tuesday 20th August 2019
A gorgeous morning, with a little bit of wind providing a cooling breeze. Along the Hawthorn and Blackthorn hedge, bot... Read More
by Katie Black
19
August
Monday 19th August 2019
From the bottom of the gully by the lighthouse bridge came the call of a Bullfinch, this almost squeak like sound carr... Read More
by Katie Black
18
August
Sunday 18 August, 2019
I arrived in rainfall! Sheltering in the bird hide I saw the pond being topped up by nature whilst around it, Bristly ... Read More
by P.Jones