Skip Navigation Links > Home > Durlston Today

Daily Diary

23
October
Monday 23 October, 2017
Even when the weathers vile A trip to Durlstons full of surprises I guarantee its worth your while Youll find wi... Read More
by Douglas Hart
22
October
Sunday 22nd October, 2017
A very autumnal feel to the early rounds this morning, with a chilly south-westerly wind but some welcome sunshine. Th... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
21
October
Saturday 21 October, 2017
Durlstons maximum wind gust was 50 miles per hour at 07:52 this morning. My patrol this morning needed to determine if... Read More
by P.Jones
20
October
Friday 20 October, 2017
Last nights performance of the Theatre of the Wandering West had a full house with just over fifty attendees. During t... Read More
by P.Jones
19
October
Thursday 19 October, 2017
Swirling fog obscures the park Birds call out from parts unknown Raindrops glisten on tree bark And mushrooms re... Read More
by Douglas Hart
18
October
Wednesday 18th October 2017
The highlight for the morning came very early on my patrol as I walked near the large copse the high pitched seep of R... Read More
by Katie Black
17
October
Tuesday 17 October, 2017
Tiny dry brown husks Of once beautiful flowers Their eyes are closed now A very attractive red sun graced the s... Read More
by Douglas Hart
16
October
Monday 16 October, 2017
At 7:30 arrival the sun was seen rising up from Durlston Head where it broke through the clouds and gave a warming gol... Read More
by P.Jones
15
October
Sunday 15th October 2017
Splashes of bright orange at the bottom of hedges lightening the grey start, these clumps of Stinking Iris berries bur... Read More
by Katie Black
14
October
Saturday 14 October, 2017
This morning brought a feast of finches, well Goldfinches at least! My biggest single count being two score flitting a... Read More
by P.Jones
13
October
Friday 13 October, 2017
A Kestrel hovered against a westerly wind blowing inland near the walling centre. But was it a Kestrel again that came... Read More
by Paul Jones
12
October
Thursday 12th October, 2017
A still, sunny autumn morning and from the moment I arrived on the Park, the skies overhead were filled with a whirlin... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
11
October
Wednesday 11th October 2017
A strong south-westerly wind blowing across the National Nature Reserve this morning, making much of the wildlife take... Read More
by Katie Black
10
October
Tuesday 10th October, 2017
A proper autumn morning, with the lovely jangling calls of many hundreds of Goldfinches filling the air throughout the... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
09
October
Monday 09 October, 2017
Our residential volunteer George, with his family, reported a Sparrow Hawk which swooped over them near the centre on ... Read More
by Paul Jones
08
October
Sunday 8th October 2017
Greeting me as I walked across the camp grass to inspect a hole were numerous Slugs, mostly made up of the two very si... Read More
by Katie Black
07
October
Saturday 7th October 2017
A distinct change in the weather compared with the glorious sun of yesterday, today bringing grey, damp drizzle! The... Read More
by Katie Black
06
October
Friday 6th October 2017
A glorious morning, brilliant sunshine, a gentle breeze and a very slight autumnal chill to start with. Up against t... Read More
by Katie Black
05
October
Thursday 05 October, 2017
The smell of bonfires still hung in the air as yesterday we had some 43 A-Level Biology Students from Beechen Cliff Sc... Read More
by Paul Jones
04
October
Wednesday 4th October 2017
Once more the Swallows are sweeping across the skies, the constant flittering of their wings catching the light as the... Read More
by Katie Black
03
October
Tuesday 03 October, 02017
In such glorious sunshine some twenty one Red Admirals put in an appearance within the coast path sunshine! A single B... Read More
by P.Jones
02
October
Monday 2nd October 2017
A wonderful sun mottled early morning to the out and about, some of the leaves have started to turn golden and red on ... Read More
by Katie Black
01
October
Sunday 01 October, 2017
Welcome to October with a truly autumnal feel! A duo of Magpies loitered beside the pedestrian crossing, camouflage ... Read More
by P.Jones with G. Scarisbrick
30
September
Saturday 30th September 2017
A fantastic flock of Goldfinches started my day off well, the tinkling as they fluttered overhead difficult to mistake... Read More
by Katie Black
29
September
Friday 29th Septmeber 2017
A very dramatic morning with a dark grey foreboding sky looking as though it was going to dump large quantities of wat... Read More
by Katie Black
28
September
Thursday 28th Sept 2017
A glorious autumnal morning with hundreds and hundreds of Swallows passing overhead, the almost constant stream a wond... Read More
by Katie Black
27
September
Wednesday 27th September 2017
A warm, still morning, with just a whisper of wind stirring the mist which hangs over the Park, pooling in hollows on ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
26
September
Tuesday 26 September, 2017
Thanks to the mist it was a morning which began with sound and silhouettes on the meadows. It was dry except for the d... Read More
by Paul Jones
25
September
Monday 25 September, 2017
When eyes are closed to all around One stumbles on a world of sound A landscape just as richly filled As any tha... Read More
by Douglas Hart