Skip Navigation Links > Home > Today

Daily Diary

21
October
Wednesday 21st October, 2020
A very wet start to the day, with a total of 8.2mm of rain last night and no sign of it stopping as I squelched my way... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
20
October
Tuesday 20th October, 2020
I headed to the woodland to check for any wind damaged trees. On the way a Charm of Goldfinches flew over the car park... Read More
by Paul Jones
19
October
Monday 19th October 2020
What a wonderful sun rise to accompany my walk this morning, this drew me towards the cliff tops where the large red o... Read More
by Katie Black
18
October
Sunday 18 October, 2020
Today Seventh Wave will be operating its Takeaway kiosk only. At the edge of the park a preening Carrion Crow, on t... Read More
by Paul Jones
17
October
Saturday 17th October, 2020
A bright and cool start to the day, with a fresh north-easterly breeze rippling through the fast emptying tree-tops an... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
16
October
Friday 16th October, 2020
A fine autumn morning on the park; the Suns light glowing across the hills as it rises to the east. I was greeted by a... Read More
by Ben Tolley
15
October
Thursday 15 October, 2020
Inspired by Richard Longs, (Landscape Artist) piece 60 Minute Walk 1990, where he worked patterns into black ink then ... Read More
by Catherine Carter
14
October
Wednesday 14th October, 2020
A blustery morning, but with the sun shining and the white fluffy clouds racing across the sky. A mass ofSwallowsswo... Read More
by Katie Black
13
October
Tuesday 13 October, 2020
The Ravens this morning were making right racket from high in the woodland canopy. As I walked up through the woodland... Read More
by Catherine Carter
12
October
Monday 12 October, 2020
Despite high cloud great views revealed St. Catherines Lighthouse. Goldfinches and possibly Chiff Chaffs were caught i... Read More
by Paul Jones
11
October
Sunday 11th October, 2020
In the garden a Blue Tit emerged from a hedge whilst a pair of Goldfinch perched in the Buddleia. I saw few flocks of ... Read More
by Paul Jones
10
October
Saturday 10th October
What a glorious morning, a slight chill in the air and a watery sun rising above the horizon. A golden glow to the dow... Read More
by Katie Black
09
October
Friday 09 October, 2020
What a beautiful fresh morning to be wondering around the Woodlands. As I approach the entrance to the woodlands Sparr... Read More
by Catherine Carter
08
October
Thursday 8th October, 2020
A wet and windy start to the morning, with a south-westerly winding gusting over 40 miles per hour, whipping the sea i... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
07
October
Wednesday 7th October 2020
A bright pink sunrise across the National Nature Reserve, the clouds tinged with pale red as the sun shone through low... Read More
by Katie Black
06
October
Tuesday 6th October, 2020
The clouds are well on the move today, with westerly winds blowing across the park. Some clouds carried downpours of r... Read More
by Ben Tolley
05
October
Monday 05 October, 2020
At first there was only one, then three then nine House Martins over Durlston Bay. Yesterday, the wind had brought the... Read More
by Paul Jones
04
October
Sunday 4th October 2020
As I began my patrol, through the grey clouds a blue strip of sky could be seen, and around it a delicate bright pink ... Read More
by Katie Black
03
October
Saturday 03 October, 2020
The naming of storms has been going on since the 1500s, but it wasnt until 2015 when the UK followed in the footsteps ... Read More
by Catherine Carter
02
October
Friday 02 October, 2020
An incredibly wild and windy morning with gusts of around 49mph, the air dense with the sound of rustling trees and, a... Read More
by Theo Derewnicki
01
October
Thursday 01 October, 2020
What a lot of rain we had, a total of 16.1mm was recorded at Durlston last night, which doesnt seem like a lot, Im sur... Read More
by Catherine Carter
30
September
Wednesday 30th September 2020
A glorious pink cloud sunrise, but the strong south-west wind was blowing in and bringing first white, then grey cloud... Read More
by Katie Black
29
September
Tuesday 29th September 2020
A fine autumn morning, after some overnight rain, with the air just verging on the misty, but with sunshine casting go... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
28
September
Monday 28th September 2020
Bright sunshine after a gorgeous pink and orange sunrise, and as I walked around Durlston a stream of birds, their con... Read More
by Katie Black
27
September
Sunday 27 September, 2020
The gentle ripple of leaves rustling above in the woodland canopy drew my attention skywards. At the top Ash keys were... Read More
by Catherine Carter
26
September
Saturday 26th September, 2020
It felt very chilly this morning as I set out under the shaded canopy of the woods, Ash and Sycamore leaves falling al... Read More
by Ben Tolley
25
September
Friday 25 September, 2020
Well its a bit chilly today, so much so I had to wear two jumpers! As I started my walk, the fluting sound of Blackcap... Read More
by Catherine Carter
24
September
Thursday 24th September 2020
An amazing early morning if you are interested in weather and sky! With the pale pink sky turning a delicate blue I be... Read More
by Katie Black
23
September
Wednesday 23rd September, 2020
A very autumnal start to the day, with some overnight rain making the air feel much fresher, carrying with it the smel... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
22
September
Tuesday 22nd September, 2020
In places the dew was evident upon the vegetation. It showed up the sheet webs of Spiders between the sward. A Goldfin... Read More
by Paul Jones