Skip Navigation Links > Home > Today

Daily Diary

19
May
Thursday 19 May, 2022
Stinging Nettle dangled flowers and the white cross flowers of Cleavers were outside the Hide. Inside the hide a Spid... Read More
by Paul Jones
18
May
Wednesday 18th May 2022
From the top of a Field Maple, just by a gateway came the most gorgeous, if persistent song, the musical fluty notes b... Read More
by Katie Black
17
May
Tuesday 17th May, 2022
The woods are lovely, lush and green this morning, with a heady tang of Cow Parsley filling the air, and the green bou... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
16
May
Monday 16th May, 2022
Calm on the park this morning following a very impressive storm last night. I think many people across the whole of Ea... Read More
by Ben Holley
15
May
Sunday 15 May, 2022
The tactile sense of woodchip paths that crumble under toe The taste of misty brine that whets the lip where sea win... Read More
by Douglas Hart
14
May
Saturday 14th May
The weather this morning was beautiful bright and sunny with only a slight breeze. Walking past the wildlife garden in... Read More
by Hannah Hastings
13
May
Friday, 13th May, 2022
Theres something very special about the feeling of being in a wood early in the morning in the spring a sort of hush ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
12
May
Thursday 12 May, 2022
This morning was to have a few interesting surprises. Before than I passed under Sweet Chestnut leaves at past Hawthor... Read More
by Paul Jones
11
May
Wednesday 11th May, 2022
Nearly all of the trees are in leaf now, with the exception of a few Ash which are usually the last species. Below the... Read More
by Ben Holley
10
May
Tuesday 10th May 2022
A change today with a layer of grey fog lying across the Country Park, but piercing this was the glorious sound of a S... Read More
by Katie Black
09
May
Monday 09 May, 2022
Immediately I head out for hay rake quarr in search of Gentians, thanks to Debbie Welham. Again, an elusive Green Wood... Read More
by Paul Jones
08
May
Sunday 8th May 2022
The early morning began with a superb view of a female Roe Deer, slowly chewing as she was lying up amongst the grasse... Read More
by Katie Black
07
May
Saturday 7th May, 2022
The tops of the meadows have been dusted a sunny yellow colour, with the blossoming of Cowslips, Buttercups, Charlock,... Read More
by Ben Holley
06
May
Friday 6th May, 2022
To be interested in the changing seasons is a happier state of mind than to be hopelessly in love withspring. George ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
05
May
Thursday 05 May, 2022
Walking through past the wildlife garden we were greeted by a wonderful display of Hawthorn flowers and the call of a ... Read More
by Hannah
04
May
Wednesday 4th May, 2022
A lovely spring-time display surrounds the picnic benches at the top of Long Meadow. Sunny yellow Buttercups are scatt... Read More
by Ben Holley
03
May
Tuesday 03 May, 2022
Into the garden I went passing the sweet scent of Hawthorn blossom. Looking into the pond I counted near a score of Sm... Read More
by Paul Jones
02
May
Monday 02 May, 2022
Today began being cloudy and damp, such that I could feel the softness of bare clay underfoot. This did not deter a fl... Read More
by Paul Jones
01
May
Sunday 1st May, 2022
I didnt quite make it up in to time to dance the sun up this morning, but was nonetheless, was lovely to be out and ab... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
30
April
Saturday 30th April, 2022
As has become familiar both Cock Pheasant and Green Woodpecker were heard but not seen (the opposite to what was desir... Read More
by Paul Jones
29
April
Friday 29th April 2022
A wonderful late April morning at Durlston, as I took my patrol across the downland, where Early Spider Orchids are po... Read More
by Katie Black
28
April
Thursday 28th April, 2022
Two, four, six then eight Goldfinches gathered near the centre before Hannah I entered the wildlife garden. Therein s... Read More
by Paul Jones
27
April
Wednesday 27th April, 2022
A lovely morning for a stroll and a real treat to show our new Ranger Hannah around the Park, at one of the loveliest ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
26
April
Tuesday 26 April, 2022
This morning (7-9am) I undertook two laps of the visitor observation survey route. Amongst the Long Meadow hedgerow, w... Read More
by Paul Jones
25
April
Monday 25th April, 2022
I could feel a damp wintery chill in the air this morning as I set out at 7am. But with bright sunshine and clear skie... Read More
by Ben Holley
24
April
Sunday 24 April 2022
This morning I was witness to a gorgeous sunrise, the sun a deep red orb in the sky, a wonderful raft of colours acros... Read More
by Katie Black
23
April
Saturday 23rd April, 2022
This morning I began my walk with a quick jaunt out into the meadows. The footpaths have now been mown to direct walke... Read More
by Ben Holley
22
April
Friday 22nd April 2022
A walk around the meadows to enjoy the wonderful sounds of Skylarks as they proclaimed territory and airspace, while t... Read More
by Katie Black
21
April
Thursday 21st April, 2022
The spring is most definitely sprung! All over the park, signs of new life are appearing by the day as the turning yea... Read More
by Ali Tuckey