Skip Navigation Links > Home > Today

Daily Diary

26
February
Friday 26 February, 2021
A gorgeous morning today. The frosty start soon warmed up by glorious sunshine. Sunnydale was alive with birdsong, t... Read More
by Robin Spanner
25
February
Thursday 25th February, 2021
A still, misty morning, following the warmest day of the year so far, with the sea and sky blurring together into gold... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
24
February
Wednesday 24th February 2021
A surprisingly chilly morning, the wind stronger that I expected, was blowing right through me! Towards the cliffs and... Read More
by Katie Black
23
February
Tuesday 23rd February, 2021
A bright and clear morning with a firm yet refreshing wind, a great wake up. In the woodland, the susurration of the H... Read More
by Theo Derewnicki
22
February
Monday 22 February, 2021
It was a rather dull morning; however, the light rain was refreshing albeit an inconvenience for binocular and spectac... Read More
by Paul Jones
21
February
Sunday 21 February, 2021
Low cloud was scoping over the top of Ballard Down and as I reached Durlston the cliff top was encased in a mild warm ... Read More
by Catherine Carter
20
February
Saturday 20th February 2021
A few days since I walked through the woodland, so off down the hill to find the wind blowing through the bare branche... Read More
by Katie Black
19
February
Friday 19 February, 2021
We are now reaching the end of the cutting season with only 1 more week to go, so the past few weeks have been all sys... Read More
by Catherine Carter
18
February
Thursday 18th February 2021
A wet morning on the park, but quite mild once again! Madness to think it was sub-zero temperatures this time last wee... Read More
by Ben Tolley
17
February
Wednesday 17th February 2021
With the continuous weather fronts it seems hard to tell where one day ends and another begins! As the Park was again ... Read More
by Gwyneth Mitchell
16
February
Tuesday 16th February, 2021
A warm, wet morning, with the Park draped in a thick veil of mist, reducing scrub on the downs to dark, ominous silhou... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
15
February
Monday 15 February, 2021
Compared to the frigid days of the previous week, today felt like August, hitting a barmy 9! The frost that clung to t... Read More
by Sammy Allen
14
February
Sunday 14 February, 2021
This mornings route took in the Winter into Spring Trail where all seven clue boards were still in place. By the pedes... Read More
by Paul Jones
13
February
Saturday 13th February, 2021
Another bitterly cold morning, with a fierce easterly wind. A volcanic sunrise set fire to the sky as I walked up the ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
12
February
Friday 12 February, 2021
I started my patrol through the car parks, soon the edges of which will be filled with a colourful display of flora. W... Read More
by Catherine Carter
11
February
Friday 11th February, 2021
As I stepped out of the car a pair of Robins arrived about my feet, perhaps hoping for a feed? Walking towards long me... Read More
by Paul Jones
10
February
Wednesday 10th February, 2021
A chilly morning, with flurries of snow whirling out of a skyscape ranging from bright orange, steel grey to pale blue... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
09
February
Tuesday 09 February 2021
Weve got snow! Only a tiny sprinkling of snow for us on the southern-most tip of Purbeck, but still nice to see, wit... Read More
by Katie Black
08
February
Monday 08 February, 2021
I started my walk on the furthest point East along the South West Coast path that enters the Country Park. This meant ... Read More
by Catherine Carter
07
February
Sunday 07 February, 2021
Sunbeams pierced through the cloud over the sea and the slither of an old moon was seen. As a Magpie duo flew silently... Read More
by Paul Jones
06
February
Saturday 6th February, 2021
A beautiful winter morning, with just a hint of spring in the air! After a chilly night, frost fringes some of the pat... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
05
February
Friday 5th February, 2021
This morning a beautiful sunrise glows across the park, casting long shadows which sway with the trees above. Evergre... Read More
by Ben Tolley
04
February
Thursday 04 February, 2021
The bird song was amazing this morning with the sounds and sights of; Wood Pigeon Columba livia, Blackbird Turdus meru... Read More
by Catherine Carter
03
February
Wednesday 3rd February 2021
As the rain poured down, I splashed through the puddles, getting wet from both above and below!! A Robin welcomed me... Read More
by Katie Black
02
February
Tuesday 02 February, 2021
Everything seemed wide awake as I entered the National Nature Reserve, even though I felt half asleep today. A Blackbi... Read More
by Catherine Carter
01
February
Monday 01 February, 2021
Looking out of the bird hide three Hen Pheasants were foraging amounts the shorter grass. With them were a pair of Dun... Read More
by Paul Jones
31
January
Sunday 31st January 2021
I had barely got my binoculars round my neck when the action began! A bird of prey gliding overhead, in the early morn... Read More
by Katie Black
30
January
Saturday 30 January, 2021
Wow, the site and sound of the winterbourne in the gully and Skylarks over the meadows. Oh, to the sound of fourteen H... Read More
by Paul Jones
29
January
Friday 29 January, 2021
Today I decided to walk and write my diary without using sight; strolling the woodland and writing what I heard, felt ... Read More
by Catherine Carter
28
January
Thursday 28th January, 2021
After a night of heavy rain, great to see a few patches of blue sky among a sea of grey cloud enough to make a sailor... Read More
by Ali Tuckey