Skip Navigation Links > Home > Today

Daily Diary

05
July
Sunday 05 July, 2020
A step among the meadow grass stirs up a great commotion With falling foot the static scene becomes alive with motio... Read More
by Douglas Hart
04
July
Saturday 4th July, 2020
A wild start to the day, with the park shrouded in fog, which only got thicker as I walked up through the woods, where... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
03
July
Friday 03 July, 2020
Everything in nature sings to those who care to listen The gusting wind, the reading waves, a sigh or roar to christ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
02
July
Thursday 2nd July 2020
A gorgeous morning for a patrol, the wind winding its way through the meadows, rippling the grasses as it went. Taking... Read More
by Katie Black
01
July
Wednesday 01 July, 2020
July started drier than June ended! It meant that some six Marbled Whites, two Meadow Browns and a Small Skipper were ... Read More
by Paul Jones
30
June
Tuesday 30 June, 2020
The mist cleared such that Peveril Point then Ballard Down and Old Harry appeared into the view looking west. The Budd... Read More
by Paul Jones
29
June
Monday 29 June, 2020
Walking paths well-trodden while searching for what is to see One finds a close companion in the stout Wayfaring Tre... Read More
by Douglas Hart
28
June
Sunday 28th June, 2020
A fresh start to the day, with a gusty wind chasing fluffy white clouds across a blue sky and rippling through the bro... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
27
June
Saturday 27 June, 2020
Car park verge Pyramidal Orchids and Greater Knapweed were there to be enjoyed by even the less mobile. My walk down l... Read More
by Paul Jones
26
June
Friday 26th June, 2020
Last night the sky was alive with flashes and forks of lightning erupting through the clouds to the south of Durlston.... Read More
by Ben Tolley
25
June
Friday 25 June, 2020
A frozen world is woken by a warm, loving embrace And all that lives here owes its thanks to sunshines gentle grace ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
24
June
Wednesday 24 June, 2020
The sun had baked exposed clay into a solid, fissured surface ideal for basking insects. Plenty of flies took to landi... Read More
by Paul Jones
23
June
Tuesday 23rd June 2020
The wonderful sound of 3 Skylarks singing gloriously from high above, the tiny brown dots just visible against the dee... Read More
by Katie Black
22
June
Monday 22nd June, 2020
Another sunny morning, with a fresh breeze carrying with it the scents of Durlston in the summer the new mown hay sme... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
21
June
Sunday 21 June, 2020
On the approach road the distinctive shape and colour of a Green Woodpecker came into view, something I had not seen f... Read More
by Paul Jones
20
June
Saturday 20th April, 2020
I walked into Durlston along the South Barn footpath this morning; one of the many rights of way which lead into the p... Read More
by Ben Tolley
19
June
Friday 19 June, 2020
A pair of Magpies caught my eye as they explored the walling centre. Several Charlock clumps had appeared between bras... Read More
by Paul Jones
18
June
Thursday 18th June, 2020
As I entered the woodland this morning, a Woodpigeon erupted from a Holly Bush, whilst others cooed from above. The wo... Read More
by Ben Tolley
17
June
Wednesday 17th June 2020
Under the humid skies it was off down the to the cliffs this morning to see the seabirds. The water completely flat, b... Read More
by Katie Black
16
June
Tuesday 16 June, 2020
A look of such intensity that it can scarce be met With ears that harvest every sound and eyes as black as jet Att... Read More
by Douglas Hart
15
June
Monday 15 June, 2020
An already active Hamish reported having seen six Crossbills and two vociferous Reed Warbler on his way into the park.... Read More
by Paul Jones
14
June
Sunday 14 June, 2020
The tumble jumble woodland looks a mish mash muddled mess With drifts of leaves and ivy sleeves and plant life in di... Read More
by Douglas Hart
13
June
Saturday 13th June 2020
The fresh easterly wind directed me to the cliff tops this morning, where the view of the blue sea covered in white cr... Read More
by Katie Black
12
June
Friday 12th June
An early stroll across the wonderful meadows of this National Nature Reserve, with the grasses and wildflowers waving ... Read More
by Katie Black
11
June
Thursday 11th June, 2020
A wild, windy morning, with Ash, Sycamore and Holm Oaks dancing in the breeze, and a White Poplar near the Learning Ce... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
10
June
Wednesday 10 June, 2020
The breeze scarce stirs, the clouds hang thick and all it seems is still The land here has its troubles, but it feel... Read More
by Douglas Hart
09
June
Tuesday 09 June, 2020
Yesterday I was lucky enough to see a Common Shrew active. The long snouted small mammal was active beside the coast p... Read More
by Paul Jones
08
June
Monday 8th June 2020
A glorious sunny morning after the rain of last evening, only 1.2mm recorded in the rain gauge although it felt like m... Read More
by Katie Black
07
June
Sunday 07 June, 2020
The land of Barnes and apple cake the land of Thomas Hardy To see it best, rise at dawns break Strike out and do... Read More
by Douglas Hart
06
June
Saturday 6th June, 2020
A bright and breezy morning, with fluffy white clouds quickly tumbling across a bright blue sky. Despite the wind, a... Read More
by Ali Tuckey