Skip Navigation Links > Home > Durlston Today

Daily Diary

11
November
Monday 11 November, 2019
For a change I walked in via the former land fill site. Passing along Steer Road a flock of Starlings flew above the r... Read More
by Paul Jones
10
November
Sunday 10 November, 2019
When I stepped outside my door at Langton I was greeted by the croak of a Raven passing overhead. Undoubtedly the larg... Read More
by Paul Jones
09
November
Saturday 9th November 2019
With the dawn came a wonderful pink sky and in some places a slight frost where the grass strips on the ground had a w... Read More
by Katie Black
08
November
Friday 08th, November, 2019
A Jay made an appearance as it crossed the approach road on what was the coldest morning of this month so far! Above... Read More
by Paul Jones
07
November
Thursday 07 November, 2019
Ephemeral pond Here today, Gone tomorrow Welcome back my friend The sun was just cresting the top of the Woodla... Read More
by Douglas Hart
06
November
Tuesday 6th November 2019
What a lovely morning, with a slight chill in the air and glorious sunshine producing an almost golden glow across Dur... Read More
by Katie Black
05
November
Tuesday 05 November, 2019
Water makes itself at home, despite clays protestations It soaks the soil and scours the land with its myriad migrat... Read More
by Douglas Hart
04
November
Monday 04 November, 2019
After last nights Stargazing a Pipistrelle Bat hawked for insects on the approach road. This mornings delight was the ... Read More
by Paul Jones
03
November
Sunday 3rd November 2019
A heavy shower of rain greeted my early walk this morning, but only a gentle wind accompanying it, this made me head f... Read More
by Katie Black
02
November
Saturday 02 November, 2019
It was a very rough start to the day thanks to a gale force wind. On my journey in I noticed a few wheelie bins having... Read More
by Paul Jones
01
November
Friday 1st November 2019
Thick fog across the park this morning, everything still and quiet and not a lot to spot. Out across to the meadows,... Read More
by Katie Black
31
October
Thursday 31 October, 2019
Ancient ways from ancient days, lines that mark out hides Ways once walked by Saxons, Brits and many more besides ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
30
October
Wednesday 30th October 2019
Down at Tilly Whim were three Black Redstarts fantastic to see. The first one spotted was a glorious male, his black ... Read More
by Katie Black
29
October
Tuesday 29th October 2019
I must have been one of the first to enter the car park this morning, disturbing a group of four Magpies and two Jays ... Read More
by Ben Tolley
28
October
Monday 28th October 2019
On the trunk of a Willow tree a bird moved in an upwards direction, it could only be a Treecreeper. The pale front fla... Read More
by Katie Black
27
October
Sunday 27 October, 2019
Triple, triple, brew some tipple Fire blaze and cauldron ripple What did Douglas see today, when he went about hi... Read More
by Douglas Hart
26
October
Saturday 26th October, 2019
A blustery autumn morning after a wild and windy night. The wind roars through the branches of trees and scrub and s... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
25
October
Friday 25 October, 2019
I took the opportunity to walk round the head as this section of coast path was open. Beside the smooth new path were ... Read More
by Paul Jones
24
October
Thursday 24th October
With the sun shielded by thick clouds the morning dawned dark and gloomy with a damp drizzle falling. Despite this i... Read More
by Katie Black
23
October
Wednesday 23rd October, 2019
A grey and chilly start to the day, but plenty of colour provided by the turning leaves and fruits and berries in the ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
22
October
Tuesday 22 October, 2019
On the Durlston approach road a Magpie flew without camouflage unlike the Green Woodpecker which merged well with the ... Read More
by Paul Jones
21
October
Monday 21 October, 2019
Lets take a little look at lichens Lobed and layered, without leaves Theyll grow wherever the sun brightens On b... Read More
by Douglas Hart
20
October
Sunday 20th October, 2019
A chilly start to the day, after a cool night, but well worth being up early, thanks to blue skies and some brilliant ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
19
October
Saturday 19 October, 2019
Walk by lamplight, walk by moonlight, walk by light of the sun Walk by highways, walk by byways, alone or with someo... Read More
by Douglas Hart
18
October
Friday 18th October 2019
The sound of mooing to be heard across the meadows, the Hereford Cows are munching, giving the grass that grows after ... Read More
by Katie Black
17
October
Thursday 17 October, 2019
The weather vane brings rain again And in grey clay the rain will stay Between the grains the rain remains Witho... Read More
by Douglas Hart
16
October
Wednesday 16 October 2019
A slight wet start to the day with plenty of slipping and rude squelching noises underfoot. Dried Bracken fronds had d... Read More
by Paul Jones
15
October
Tuesday 15th October 2019
The moon dominating the sky just as dawn arrived, the huge white orb visible to the west, in the east the sun was risi... Read More
by Katie Black
14
October
Monday 14 October, 2019
The spectacled amongst you will appreciate that rain hampers clear nature observation when outdoors. Despite having sh... Read More
by Paul Jones