Skip Navigation Links > Home > Today

Daily Diary

11
May
Tuesday 11 May, 20201
I was greeted by the scratchy calls of a Whitethroats and the melodic sound of Skylarks. In Boys Brigade / Skipworth m... Read More
by Paul Jones
10
May
Monday10 May 2021
A gorgeous rainbow was diving into the white water that rippled across the sea just off Anvil Point Lighthouse, behind... Read More
by Katie Black
09
May
Sunday 09 May, 2021
As I sat and ate breakfast this morning, I had a lovely view of Swifts, Starlings and House Sparrows all flying betwee... Read More
by Catherine Carter
08
May
Saturday 8th May, 2021
A wild, wet start to the day, with steely waves exploding against an iron coast, sending spray high into the air quit... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
07
May
Friday 07 May, 2021
Its amazing what a little bit of rain can do, this morning there seems to of been an explosion of new growth. With the... Read More
by Catherine Carter
06
May
Thursday 6th May, 2021
This morning I entered the park from Belle Vue Road, through the gates next to the Purbeck Heights flats. This site wa... Read More
by Ben Tolley
05
May
Wednesday 5th May, 2021
A glorious spring morning, with high white clouds tumbling across a bright blue sky and the sea shimmering with sparks... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
04
May
Tuesday 4th May, 2021
Quite windy this morning, though not as breezy as last night when a maximum gust of 50mph was recorded at our weather ... Read More
by Ben Tolley
03
May
Monday 3rd May 2021
The scratchy song of a Common Whitethroat the dominant sound of the scrub this morning, this African migrant now to be... Read More
by Katie Black
02
May
Sunday 02 May, 2021
Yesterday, the new arrivals, thirteen Herford Calves and twelve Cows seemed content in Field 3. Please do not approach... Read More
by Paul Jones
01
May
Saturday 1sy May, 2021
A lovely spring morning, with the woodland filled with the fluty song of Blackcaps, the jazzy rhythms of Dunnocks, the... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
30
April
Friday 30th April, 2021
I do enjoy this time of year. Hawthorns, Hazels, and Horse Chestnuts adorn their branches in lime green leaves, whilst... Read More
by Ben Tolley
29
April
Thursday 29th April, 2021
It was a delightful morning after yesterdays afternoon of thunder and lightning! An Ash tree showed fresh leaves and o... Read More
by Paul Jones
28
April
Wednesday 28th April, 2021
An unexpectedly balmy spring morning, with high cloud and blue skies (though an ominous bank of purple cloud hints at ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
27
April
Tuesday 27 April, 2021
A beautiful morning with a temperature of 10 degrees already and a delightful SE wind of 1mph, it is going to be a hot... Read More
by Catherine Carter
26
April
Monday 26th April, 2021
Coat weather continues with a crisp wind still blowing from the East. The Sun shines through deceptive bright blue ski... Read More
by Ben Tolley
25
April
Sunday 25th April 2021
A quite glorious sunrise, with a deep pink sky and the fluffy clouds also picking up this colour. A Chaffinch was si... Read More
by Katie Black
24
April
Saturday 24th April, 2021
The fresh easterly breeze continues to whip up waves in Durlston Bay before rattling through the woodland. The rest of... Read More
by Ben Tolley
23
April
Friday 23 April, 2021
A flash of colour caught my eye as I walked up to the Country Park, once settled on a nearby roof I had a lovely view ... Read More
by Catherine Carter
22
April
Thursday 22nd April, 2021
To dwellers in a wood almost every species of tree has its voice as well as its feature. At the passing of the breeze ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
21
April
Wednesday 21st April 2021
An eerie start to the morning with a low mist across the sea and the sun blasting a golden ring onto the water. From t... Read More
by Katie Black
20
April
Tuesday 20th April, 2021
A wonderfully bright, still and quiet morning, the only thing breaking the silence is the gentle cooing of a Wood Pige... Read More
by Theo Derewnicki
19
April
Monday 19 April, 2021
The morning felt a touch eerie with low hanging mists shrouding the park. Birdsong seemed to struggle to pierce throug... Read More
by Robin Spanner
18
April
Sunday 18th April 2021
The wonderful smell of Poplar leaves as they open wafting through the woods, was accompanied by the more-acrid Wild Ga... Read More
by Katie Black
17
April
Saturday 17 April, 2021
I was certainly enjoying the calm that the woodlands brought this morning, knowing that in a few hours day visitor wou... Read More
by Catherine Carter
16
April
Friday 16th April 2021
A quite fabulous early morning, with sunshine and blue skies and birdsong coming from almost every angle. Overhead t... Read More
by Katie Black
15
April
Thursday 15th April, 2021
Walking into the woodland this morning I was greeted by the melodic tunes of a Robin and a Blue Tit. A Crow could also... Read More
by Ben Tolley
14
April
Wednesday 14 April, 2021
What a beautifully sunny day!! A little chilly around the edges at a high of 10.5, compared to last years barmy 20.8. ... Read More
by Catherine Carter
13
April
Tuesday 13th April, 20201
This morning struck me as being ideal Easter weather. As my patrol progressed, I became increasing aware, That I was o... Read More
by Paul Jones
12
April
Monday 12th April 2021
The amazing sight and sound of two Peregrine Falcons took pride of place on my early patrol. These two birds screechin... Read More
by Katie Black