Skip Navigation Links > Home > Durlston Today > Daily Diary

Daily Diary

21
August
Monday 21st August, 2017
A rather humid and misty start to the day, with the morning rounds alternating between bright sunshine and mist and cl... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
20
August
Sunday 20 August, 2017
A mystery sound from round the corner, perhaps some new bird call Never mind its just a dog chewing on a squeaky bal... Read More
by Douglas Hart and Ken Roberts
19
August
Saturday 19th August 2017
Perched on the buddleia outside window is a stunning Red Admiral butterfly, the red and white wing markings flashing i... Read More
by Katie Black
18
August
Friday 18th August, 2017
It was a gloriously sunny start to the day today, as I set out for the morning ranger patrol. At first, our resident H... Read More
by Ben Tolley
17
August
Thursday 17th August 2017
The thick cloud making for a very dull early patrol, making it difficult to distinguish some of the small birds. The... Read More
by Katie Black
16
August
Wednesday 16 August, 2017
Gentle winds and mild climes are a pleasant scene to find A morning walk at Durlston enriches both the body and mind... Read More
by Douglas Hart
15
August
Tuesday 15 August, 2017
Todays Ranger patrol had me hunting for animal tracks and signs in preparation for this afternoons Wildlife Forensic s... Read More
by Paul Jones
14
August
Monday 14th August, 2017
A tranquil start to the day, with just the gentlest breath of wind ghosting through the meadows, making the calls and ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
13
August
Sunday 13 August, 2017
Last nights Stargazing was well attended and it provided super views of shooting stars or rather the Perseid Meteorite... Read More
by Paul Jones
12
August
Saturday 12th August 2017
A grey overcast morning with dampness in the air, but still fantastic views across to the Isle of Wight. The water in ... Read More
by Katie Black
11
August
Friday 11 August 2017
The sound of Herring Gulls began my early patrol, their calls ringing round as they flew above the short turf on the d... Read More
by Katie Black
10
August
Thursday 10th August, 2017
What a relief it was to wake-up to sunshine this morning! Though with a bit of a chill in the air, it was a shame my c... Read More
by Ben Tolley
09
August
Wednesday 9th August 2017
Another damp morning patrol, the rain dropping straight down in large droplets, some going straight down the neck the ... Read More
by Katie Black
08
August
Tuesday 8th August, 2017
Some welcome rain this morning although not especially heavy, it seems to be the particularly damp kind maybe I shou... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
07
August
Monday 7th August 2017
The calling of a Green Woodpecker the first sound of the patrol, as I walked along the path two of these youngsters fl... Read More
by Katie Black
06
August
Sunday 06 August, 2017
On my journey in I counted a score of House Martins on the wires at Greyseed Farm, but despite their circling the entr... Read More
by Paul Jones
05
August
Saturday 5th August 2017
A wonderful summer morning, with blue skies, a gentle breeze and some brilliant sunshine sparkling on the waves. Aro... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
04
August
Friday 4th August, 2017
A sunny morning, with a fresh westerly breeze. Overhead, some welcome patches of blue sky, with fluffy white clouds sc... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
03
August
Thursday 3rd August 2017
What an amazing morning, the strong wind roaring up the downland from the west, making standing on the top of the ridg... Read More
by Katie Black
02
August
Wednesday 02 August, 2017
Birds and butterflies stay in hiding Trees and grass shake for all theyre worth The elements show no sign of subsi... Read More
by Douglas Hart
01
August
Tuesday 01 August, 2017
A Green Woodpecker appeared from nowhere and the gully amplified its calls, only to disappear under the canopy of a sy... Read More
by Paul Jones
31
July
Monday 31 July, 2017
The Master of winds turns to the breeze And rides the changing gusts with ease Then scans the ground for prey to s... Read More
by Douglas Hart
30
July
Sunday 30 July, 2017
It was a delight to step out into the sunshine without rain. Upon the damp mown path through South Meadow scores of Ke... Read More
by Paul Jones
29
July
Saturday 29th July 2017
A nice morning for a stroll, with a few patches of blue sky peeping through the clouds. As the summer moves on, the ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
28
July
Monday 28th July, 2017
I set out today headed west through the meadows, the strong winds from yesterday had continued through the night and m... Read More
by Ben Tolley
27
July
Thursday 27 July, 2017
Dressed in regal colours, red as blood and black as coal The Admirals of Durlston are heading out on their patrol ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
26
July
Wednesday 26 July, 2017
Held aloft by fragile wings, a gatekeeper braves the weather Dodging raindrops the size of your head is a major ende... Read More
by Douglas Hart
25
July
Tuesday 25th July 2017
A quite glorious morning, bright warm sunshine making the butterflies jink backwards and forward, a good species list ... Read More
by Katie Black
24
July
Monday 24 July 2017
A fantastic sight of a Kestrel as it hovered above the long grass, the head perfectly still while the wings and tail w... Read More
by Katie Black
23
July
Sunday 23 July, 2017
Before venturing out I look through the cliff camera to see one lonely Guillemot visible upon on the ledge. My brief c... Read More
by Paul Jones