Skip Navigation Links > Home > Durlston Today > Daily Diary

Daily Diary

19
January
Friday 19 January, 2018
Lichens watch the world go by, stoic and unmoving Their bodies and their way of life scarcely need improving From ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
18
January
Thursday 18th January 2018
Another morning where the ground was sodden after the rain, just enough over the last few days to turn the meadows of ... Read More
by Katie Black
17
January
Wednesday 17th January, 2018
A bitterly cold north-westerly wind roars across the park this morning, after a windy night, gusting up to 44mph. Af... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
16
January
Tuesday 16 January, 2018
I passed a Magpie duo which were investigating the over flow carpark area at Long Meadow. Not unusually I heard the ca... Read More
by P.Jones
15
January
Monday 15 January, 2018
When the weather turns to bad its wise to go inside To find a sheltered comfy place where you can then reside But ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
14
January
Sunday 14th January, 2018
Another still, quiet morning the Park is a very peaceful place to be at this time of year, with the gentle whisper of... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
13
January
Saturday 13 January, 2018
Although I could hear the call of Carrion Crow, I could not see them in the Small Copse despite the branches of Ash an... Read More
by P.Jones
12
January
Friday 12th Janaury, 2018
A mild, misty morning, with bird song ringing out around the Park, carrying well through the still air. The rhythmic... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
11
January
Thursday 11th January 2018
As the morning began the sky was blue with a few wispy clouds floating across it, these coloured with a pinkish hue fr... Read More
by Katie Black
10
January
Wednesday 10 January, 2018
Mushrooms grow, spray spores and die, their lives are quite laconic. Then theyre rotted by other fungi. I wonder, is... Read More
by Douglas Hart
09
January
Tuesday 09 January, 2018
An hour spent on Durlstons grounds Is hardly time enough So many sights and smells and sounds Each a diamond in ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
08
January
Monday 8th January, 2018
A chilly, grey start to the day, but although much of the meadows are thoroughly sodden underfoot, a dry morning. A ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
07
January
Sunday 07 January, 2018
Upon arrival it was the waffle of a Green Woodpecker that I first heard. I then went to inspect the remnants of yester... Read More
by Paul Jones
06
January
Saturday 6th January 2018
A much chillier morning with a north-east wind coming across and clear skies. Off around the clifftop to enjoy this wo... Read More
by Katie Black
05
January
Friday 5th January 2018
Strong winds again greeted my early morning, the sky a combination of fluffy white cirrus and thick dark grey cumulus ... Read More
by Katie Black
04
January
Thursday 04 January, 2018
My eyes strain hard to make out colour The lack of light makes the world duller The birds before me are streaks of... Read More
by Douglas Hart
03
January
Wednesday 3rd January 2018
What a glorious morning for a patrol, the westerly winds blowing at a steady 30 mph, but with gusts up to 60mph so qu... Read More
by Katie Black
02
January
Tuesday 02 January, 2018
Deep within the tangled scrub A hidden kingdom lies awaiting Moss and mushroom, briar and scrub These hidden wor... Read More
by Douglas Hart
01
January
Monday 01 January, 2018
This morning has been a rather soggy start to the year. As I write I sit in my chainsaw brace and bib as my trousers a... Read More
by Paul Jones
31
December
Sunday 31 December, 2017
Some rangers, full of good cheer Spent twelve months working up here From Doug, Katie, Ali and Paul We want to w... Read More
by Douglas Hart
30
December
Saturday 30 December, 2017
The birds of Durlston are scarce indeed With sightings few and far between My only choice is to proceed And hope... Read More
by Douglas Hart
29
December
Friday 29th December 2017
As this morning dawned a sudden and unexpected flash of lightning blasted across the sky, followed by the rumbling of ... Read More
by Katie Black
28
December
Thursday 28th December 2017
An amazing sunny morning for a patrol, the cold weather lulling me into a false sense of security as I disappeared up ... Read More
by Katie Black
27
December
Wednesday 27th December, 2017
Lichens show us how There is strength in unity They grow everywhere A tranquil walk to the park this morning, w... Read More
by Douglas Hart
24
December
Sunday 24th December 2017
A rather grey and damp start to the day, so started the morning rounds with a stroll through the woods. Rain patters g... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
23
December
Saturday 23 December, 2017
Whilst two Rabbits sat calmly by the rear wheels of the Mule, the waffle of a Green Woodpecker rang out from Reservoir... Read More
by P.Jones
22
December
Friday 22nd December 2017
Even on a grey day in December, there is still plenty of colour to enjoy during the morning rounds. The vibrant pink a... Read More
by Ali Tuckey