Skip Navigation Links > Home > Durlston Today > Daily Diary

Daily Diary

26
June
Monday 26 June, 2017
Silent death patrols the skies, its purpose terribly clear For the hapless prey That dies today Its the last thi... Read More
by Douglas Hart
25
June
Sunday 25 June, 2017
After last nights excellent Rude Mechanical Theatre Companys performance we were treated to the sight of two female Gl... Read More
by Paul Jones
24
June
Saturday 24 June, 2017
It started as an atmospheric misty morning with the vegetation having been revitalised by a little rainfall! The forec... Read More
by Paul Jones
23
June
Friday 23 June, 2017
It was not a t-shirt and shorts morning which was a refreshing change! Our Meadows moved in waves in the wind, however... Read More
by Paul Jones
22
June
Thursday 22nd June, 2017
After baking under the sun over the last few days, the Park feels cooler and fresher this morning. A cloudy, still n... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
21
June
Wednesday 21 June 2017
Circling around the sky, using the warm air was a Buzzard, a wonderful sight as it passed over my head allowing a good... Read More
by Katie Black
20
June
Tuesday 20 June, 2017
A slightly cooler morning thanks to a little more cloud and a breeze! I briefly spoke with Ann whom had done an earl... Read More
by Paul Jones
19
June
Monday 19 June, 2017
Although sunny start I enjoyed a refreshing breeze, made most evident by the branch movement of Ash, Sycamore and Holm... Read More
by Paul Jones
18
June
Sunday 18 June, 2017
Cardinal Beetle, clothed in red Fills its predators with dread Through its colour a message is spread If you eat... Read More
by Douglas Hart
17
June
Saturday 17 June, 2017
There once was a wood full of Ransoms Whos flowers were small white and handsome But when June came around They ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
16
June
Friday 16th June 2017
Three tiny Rabbits bounding across the path was my first wildlife encounter of the morning, quickly followed by the so... Read More
by Katie Black
15
June
Thursday 15 June, 2017
Up above the waning gibbous the Skylark makes its foray I stare up at the sky And this scene hits my eye Its tru... Read More
by Douglas Hart
14
June
Wednesday 14 June, 2017
The wondrous sights of Durlston can be easily forsook By those who spend each moment dashing from tree to hill to br... Read More
by Douglas Hart
13
June
Tuesday 13 June, 2017
Investigating the centre gutters, presumably for insects, was a House Sparrow. Bumblebees visited those bramble flower... Read More
by Paul Jones
12
June
Monday 12th June 2017
Walking down the lighthouse road the sound of a Skylark was ringing in my ears, this beautiful sound and sight was acc... Read More
by Katie Black
11
June
Sunday 11th June, 2017
A bright and breezy start to the day, with a pleasant westerly breeze rustling through the meadows, carrying the scent... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
10
June
Saturday 10 June, 2017
Adders like to be left alone, thats not asking too much Their markings help achieve this by declaring DO NOT TOUCH! ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
09
June
Friday 09 June, 2017
Swifts are aptly named theyre quick and agile With small legs and hollow bones so fragile The Car park provided my... Read More
by Douglas Hart
08
June
Thursday 8th June 2017
Out of the window this morning I watched a female Roe Deer as she chomped through a Bulbous Buttercup, the yellow flow... Read More
by Katie Black
07
June
Wednesday 7th June, 2017
A bright, breezy start to the day. Overhead, white, fluffy clouds scud across a bright blue sky, while below the cliff... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
06
June
Tuesday 06 June, 2017
The rain last night put a dampening (literally) on any chance of an evening walk, so I was glad to get out this mornin... Read More
by Julie Hanks
05
June
Monday 05 June, 2017
Summer has arrived at last Winter and Spring now both have passed But when I checked the weather forecast I saw ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
04
June
Sunday 4th June, 2017
A lovely fresh summer morning, with trails of high cloud across a deep blue sky. Around the meadows, the air is full o... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
03
June
Saturday 03 June, 2017
A rather quiet morning but warm with a cooling breeze. As I walked towards the castle Magpies and Blackbirds were seen... Read More
by Paul Jones
02
June
Friday 02 June, 2017
Last nights bird boat trip brought us good views of cliff nesting Swifts and up to six Puffins as well as Kittiwakes n... Read More
by Paul Jones
01
June
Thursday 01 June, 2017
Meadow ants build their sandy fort Where the ant queen holds her court Her subjects may be very short But their ... Read More
by Douglas Hart and Julie Hanks
31
May
Wednesday 31st May 2017
Standing on the beautifully mown meadow path was a Fox, this creature looking a little thin but still a good coat on i... Read More
by Katie Black
30
May
Tuesday 30th May 2017
With a thick grey cloud cover greeting my early patrol, I headed for the meadows to have a look at the wonderful varie... Read More
by Katie Black
29
May
Monday 29th May, 2017
Even after last nights heavy rain and more spectacular lightning storms, it still feels rather humid this morning, wit... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
28
May
Sunday 28 May, 2017
Stepping on the Common Wares I had rouse the unauthorised camper whom had pitch a tent with providing an excellent vie... Read More
by Paul Jones